Faculty Senate Resolution 04-08

A Bylaws Amendment Concerning the

Council of Policy Committees

Draft, January 9th, 2004

Claire Advokat

Be it Resolved, that the portion of the Faculty Senate Bylaws regarding the memberships of the Council of Policy Committees, be amended as follows:

The Council shall consist of the chair, or the designated member of the elected policy committee or equivalent entity, of the following 16 academic units: College of Agriculture, College of Art and Design, College of Arts and Sciences, College of Basic Sciences, E.J. Ourso College of Business Administration, College of Education, College of Engineering, School of Veterinary Medicine, [School of Library and Information Sciences, Manship School of Mass Communication, College of Music and Dramatic Arts, School of Social Work], [School of the Coast and Environment, Center for Energy Studies, LSU Libraries, and the Museum Complex]. *

The Council will elect its own chair. The Vice-President of the Faculty Senate will serve ex-officio, and will convene the Council when no chair is in place.

^{*(}Statements in bold include the new unit names and the brackets indicate the present organization that is, the bracketed units are now represented by a single individual).

Faculty Senate Resolution 04-08

A Bylaws Amendment Concerning the

Council of Policy Committees

Draft, February 4, 2004

Clare Advokat

Whereas, the Council of Policy Committees (CPC) serves as liaison between the policy committees of the academic units and the Executive Committee, and

Whereas, the CPC is charged with developing and maintaining 'criteria for evaluating academic and research programs for planning and/or restructuring', and

Whereas, the CPC advises and makes recommendations to the Executive Committee on all academic matters affecting more than one College or School, and

Whereas, the present membership of the CPC does not provide for independent representation of each College of School,

Therefore, be it Resolved, that the portion of the Faculty Senate Bylaws regarding the membership of the Council of Policy Committees be amended as follows:

The Council shall consist of the chair, of the chair's designee, of the elected policy committees of the following 14 academic units: College of Agriculture, College of Art and Design, College of Arts and Sciences, College of Basic Sciences, E.J. Ourso College of Business Administration, College of Education, College of Engineering, School of Veterinary Medicine, School of Library and Information Sciences, Manship School of Mass Communication, College of Music and Dramatic Arts, School of Social Work, School of the Coast and Environment, and as a single entity, the [Center for Energy Studies, LSU Libraries, and the Museum Complex].

The Council will elect its own chair. The Vice-President of the Faculty Senate will serve ex-officio, and will convene the Council when no chair is in place.