## FACULTY SENATE RESOLUTION 87-5

WHEREAS the Faculty Senate established the  $\underline{ad}$   $\underline{hoc}$  Committee on Computing to review the status of the 1984 Task Force recommendations on computing, and

WHEREAS this committee is in agreement that a faculty advisory committee on academic (instructional and research) computing is very necessary, and

WHEREAS the Faculty Senate is the appropriate organization to form such a committee,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that the Faculty Senate establish a permanent committee on academic computing at LSU.

- Charges: 1. To conduct continuous review of and make recommendations regarding policies and procedures governing all activities related to academic computing (instructional and research) on the LSU campus
  - 2. To semi-annually present a recommended faculty position on the status of academic computing
  - 3. To facilitate communication and cooperation between the faculty and the administration in matters relating to academic computing

(The committee will have no administrative function; its role will be one of evaluation and advice. The committee should also serve as the focus for faculty expression. The committee will consist of ten (10) faculty members: one from each of the colleges of Agriculture, Arts and Sciences, Basic Sciences, Business Administration, Design, Education, and Engineering and one from the School of Veterinary Medicine; one faculty member from among the Schools of Library and Information Science, Music, and Social Work; and one faculty member from among the following: Audubon Sugar Institute, Museum Complex, Center for Energy Studies, and Center for Wetland Resources. The member from the research units should be a person whose major computing activities are more closely associated with the research unit than with an academic unit. The Director and the Assistant Director for User Services of the System Network Computer Center (SNCC) and a representative appointed by the Director of the LSU Libraries will serve as <u>ex-officio</u> members of the committee.)

ADOPTED: December 8, 1987