Paul C. Young Award

The Psychology Department gives this award annually to honor the most outstanding senior in psychology. The winner will be announced during the Psi Chi Induction ceremony in the in the spring semester of each year.

  • Anyone who graduated in the preceding semesters (Fall, 2022; Spring / Summer, 2023)
  • Must have a cumulative 3.50 or better overall GPA
  • Must have a 3.50 or better GPA in psychology courses

Any psychology major (B.A. or B.S.) meeting the eligibility requirement should submit the following information in a single pdf file to Dr. Chris Cox ( by 5:00PM, March 29th, 2024.

  1. Current, unofficial copy of LSU transcript.
  2. Personal statement of no more than two double-spaced pages that describes honors, research experience, and career goals.
  3. A résumé or curriculum vitae, including contact information.

The recipient’s name will be placed on a plaque in Audubon Hall. Additionally, the winner will receive a certificate of recognition and a $100 award.

2023-2024: Will Decker

2022-2023: Evan Threeton

2021-2022: Tiffany Huynh

2020-2021: Mia Goodson

2018-2019: Raleigh Goodwin

2017-2018: Rainey Landry

2016-2017: Bryanna Fields

2015-2016: Lauren Meaux

2014-2015: Paige Heurtin

2013-2014: Margaret Hindman

2012 -2013: Anthony Correro

2011-2012: Jennifer Maul

2010-2011: Lindsay Benitez

2009-2010: Charlotte Gates

2008-2009: Suzette Tassin

2007-2008: Emily Smitherman

2005-2006: John L. Holmes

2005-2006: Katie M. Barrilleaux

2004-2005: Erin M. Jackson

2002-2003: Ashley A. Gray

2001-2002: Jill R. Bordelon

2000-2001: Melissa Luke

1999-2000: Dana C. Perantie

1998-1999: Lahna Rung

1997-1998: Jessica DeCuir

1996-1997: Susan Parault