About the College

The LSU College of Science is committed to developing and maintaining world-class research programs, and educating the next generation of international leaders in the sciences. Supported by a community of diverse, innovative and well-funded faculty and staff, the college provides rich invaluable research experiences for undergraduate and graduate students to help prepare tomorrow’s scientists for rewarding careers in education, medicine, research, business or public service.

The college consists of five academic departments: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Geology & Geophysics, Mathematics, and Physics & Astronomy, and the Museum of Natural Science, and includes more than 200 tenure-track faculty, 40 instructors, and 100 administrative, research and technical staff. Currently, the college has more than $30 million in external funding for research.


Dean peterson
memorial tower
faculty member with telescope