Hall of Distinction

The College of Human Sciences & Education has produced leaders who make significant positive impacts to the college mission, their profession, their community, academia, or government. Since 2011, the college has recognized and celebrated these individuals who exemplify the mission of CHSE to address the complex human issues and policy decisions facing Louisiana, the nation, and the world through their gifts, talents, and time.

2022 Honorees

Alumna of Distinction Award 

The Alumna of Distinction Award recognizes alumnae who have distinguished themselves and the university through their careers, their personal and civic accomplishments, their volunteer activities, and embody our college’s vision to geaux change lives. Honorees have excelled in all these areas and exemplify the essence of a true College of Human Sciences & Education changemaker.

D-D Breaux
School of Kinesiology

D-D Breaux, the longest tenured coach of any sport in SEC history, established and maintained LSU’s reputation as one of the premier collegiate gymnastics’ programs in the country. Breaux has represented the University at the highest level both in the gym and, most importantly, in the classroom for 43 years. She built the LSU gymnastics program, created as a Title IX program, into a national powerhouse. Breaux tells current athletes about the program’s rocky rise to prominence not to reveal unforeseen layers of herself and her story, but to push them to be better, to remain positive in the face of adversity, and to never let up.

Breaux is all about building not just athletes, but women who stand up for themselves in a world that challenges them to do so. Colleagues describe her as being steadfast in her mission to draw attention to student-athletes’ needs, especially from a safety perspective. Breaux’s long commitment to service and giving back and the example she set for her teams aligns with our college’s mission and dedication to educating students to become servant leaders in the communities in which they choose to live, work, and play.

Changemakers Award

The Changemakers Award is the ultimate honor and exemplar of what CHSE strives to be. We are not side-line sitters, we are changemakers, and we leave an imprint; not a light one, but one that alters the landscape and challenges the status quo. When we show up, communities are better.

CHSE Huey P. Long Field House Leadership Team
Carolyn Carter Collins
Jackie Ducote
Carolyn Hargrave
Laura Lindsay
Russell Mosely

This year’s honorees were selected for their vision, expertise, leadership, and commitment to the restoration of the Huey P. Long Field House. The importance of this work is hard to overstate, as historical features such as the terrazzo floors, the Tiger mosaic, the ballroom, and other historical markers of this building literally tell the LSU story. This renovation ensures that future generations of Tigers will research, teach, and learn in state-of-the art classrooms, labs, and meeting spaces.

Carolyn Carter Collins’ tireless service to our university was instrumental in elevating the status of women in Louisiana. Dr. Collins is an LSU Associate Vice Chancellor and holds the prestigious honor of Dean Emeritus. She was LSU’s first African American Dean of an Academic College as well as the founder of the Summer Scholars, Black Faulty and Staff Caucus, the LSU Parents Association, and Parents weekend. She served as a College Administrator and Consultant to The College Board. Additionally, Dr. Collins was the President of the National Association of Deans and Directors of University Colleges, and President of the Southern Region of The College Board. 

Jackie Ducote, community leader and LSU Manship School Hall of Fame honoree, is known for her distinguished career as one of the most accomplished communication experts of our time. Ducote was the first female President of the Public Affairs Research Council, the Executive Vice President of the Louisiana Association of Business and Industry, President of the Louisiana State University Manship School Alumni Board, and chair for the LSU Journalism Building renovation committee. Following Hurricanes Katrina and Rita, Ducote led the Public Policy Leadership Institute for SMHA and the 11-parish Rural Recovery Response. She is a long-time advocate for improving open meeting and public record laws in Louisiana.

Carolyn Hargrave’s outstanding academic leadership in higher education provided a statewide network cooperative for resource sharing among Louisiana academic libraries. Dr. Hargrave’s 45-year career at LSU began in 1968 as Assistant Professor in the College of Business; her administrative assignments commenced in 1974 as Associate Dean of the Graduate School, followed in 1981 as Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. During her ten years in this position, the longest tenure in LSU’s recent history, Hargrave helped LSU implement its first admission requirements and launch major initiatives strengthening both promotion and tenure and research.

Laura F. Lindsay, PhD, Professor Emerita, has been a powerful advocate for women across Louisiana. In June 2013, she retired as founding dean of the LSU College of Human Sciences & Education, culminating more than 35 years of service to our university. Working in academia for 43 years, Lindsay held various faculty positions including Interim Provost from 2002-2003, and Vice Provost and Associate Vice Chancellor in the Office of Academic Affairs from 1989-1999.

Russell Mosely, great grandson of Huey Long, always keeps his love for Baton Rouge and our university at the forefront of his vision as an eloquent keeper of the Long legacy. He is the founder and developer of Long Farm Village and owns Mosely Law Firm, L.L.C. Mosely is a current board member of the Baton Rouge Growth Coalition (former Board President), the Capital Area Finance Authority, the YMCA and the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame. Mosely has previously served on the boards of the Baton Rouge Food Bank (former Chairman), the Board of Supervisors for the University of Louisiana System (former Vice Chairman and Parliamentarian) and the Louisiana Arts and Sciences Museum.

Hall of Distinction Past Honorees