John Pojman

john pojman

Professor - Polymers & Nonlinear Chemical Dynamics
Bachelor's Degree(s): Georgetown University, 1984
PhD: University of Texas at Austin, 1988
PostDoc: Brandeis, 1988-90

Research Team Site: Pojman Group Site

Awards & Honors

Basic Research Award, The University of Southern Mississippi, 1998

USM Innovation Award for Basic Research, 2005

Mississippi Section of the American Chemical Society “Chemist of the Year,” 2006

Coates E. Coates Memorial Award, Baton Rouge Sections of the American Chemical Society (ACS) and the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE), 2023

Southwest Regional ACS Award, 2023


Chair, "Oscillations and Dynamics Instabilities in Chemical Systems" Gordon Conference, Lewiston, Maine, July 2004.

Khan, A. M. "Free-Radical Frontal Polymerization:  Self-Propagating Thermal Reaction Waves,"J. Chem. Soc. Faraday Trans. 1996, 92, 2824-2836.

Former Ph.D. Students & Postodcs

Dr. Anthony Mai, May, 2021, Indorama Ventures

Dr. Samuel Bynum, 2020, EPA

Dr. Kylee Fazende, August 2019, Naval Surface Warfare Center Carderock Division (NSWCCD)

Dr. Michael Tullier, May 2017, Albemarle Corp.

Dr. Leah Garber, May 2016, Dow Chemical

Dr. Elizabeth Jee, May 2016, BASF

Dr. Arturo Carranza, December 2016, Afton Chemical

Dr. Chris Bounds, August 2012, Mississippi State University, Advanced Composite Institute

Prof. Dionne Fortenberry, Mississippi University for Women

Prof. Lydia L. Lewis, Millsaps College

Prof. Brian McFarland, Associate VP for Academic Affairs and Dean of Arts and Sciences at Morningside University

Dr. Randy Washington, Proctor & Gamble (OH)

Dr. Victor Ilyashenko, IPG Photonics Corp. (MA)

Dr. Yuri Chekanov (Michellin, France)

Dr. Stanislav Solovyov (MA)

Dr. William West, Ciba (AL)